“The whole story of this album is interesting and different. Life is an endless stream of challenges, and for this singer, the most important ingredient to hang on to is our innocence and wonder at the world.”

Luka Bloom
January 2005


Luka Bloom – Guitars, Vocals, Mandola
Kenneth Edge – Soprano Saxophone and Clarinet – Tracks: 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9
Joe Csibi – Double Bass – Tracks: 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9
Ray Fean – Percussion, Salt and Pepper – Tracks: 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13
Mohamed Bouhanna – Derbouka – Tracks: 11, 13
Eithne Ni Chathain – Vocals and Fiddle – Tracks: 7, 12, 13
Pat Collins – Fiddle – Tracks: 9, 11

Recorded in Blacktrench, County Kildare.
Engineered, mixed and mastered by Brian Masterson.
Produced by Luka Bloom and Brian Masterson.

Project Coordinator: Niall Rynne
Artwork: Turlough Rynne
Photography: Giorgia Bertazzi

All songs written and composed by Luka Bloom
© 2005 Luka Bloom (IMRO/MCPS Ireland)
Except: Larry Redican’s Bow, traditional, arranged by Luka Bloom

Additional information


in dublin – Issue 41 – February 17th – February 23rd 2005

* * * *
LUKA BLOOM – Innocence

Innocence seems like a strange title for Luka Bloom's tenth studio album. At this stage of his career, Bloom is bound to have seen it all – done that, bought the overpriced dodgy boxer shorts. However, Innocence is an album that could easily be mistaken as an accomplished debut. Bloom's lyrics are so insightful and fresh that you'd be forgiven for mistaking him as a young and disillusioned twenty-something. That's no bad thing either. Musically, Innocence is just as as simple and static. The glorius acoustic opener Primavera is a romantic and heartful love song, the like of which would even tingle the nethers of Granny Grumpy. Subtle intrumentals such as the barely beating beautiful Peace On Earth are as joyous and enthralling as it's impressive album mates. Lovely.

Dean Davis